top of page

The Three Energy Systems


The three energy systems include the Immediate Energy System, the Non-Oxidative Energy System, and the Oxidative Energy System. These systems have to do with the performance of your body and they are important because the can affect your quality of life, health and longevity.⁣

Immediate Energy system refers to explosive or rapid response energy such as a one-rep max of a fast and heavy weight lift. It is a very quick movement that is done within a very short amount of time. Non-oxidative energy refers to an activity that requires a relatively high energy outpoint for a relatively short amount of time. When a track athlete does a 400 meter sprint this would be an example of non-oxidative energy. This burst of energy can last up to two minutes. When referring to the oxidative energy system we are looking at activities that increase your heart rate for longer than two minutes. When active you will be putting out less work but be holding it for a longer duration of time. Example could be people who are training for a marathon or actively riding there bike for a duration of miles.⁣

I use F.I.I.T in my weekly retinue because I participate in running at least five times a week. I do some days at a lower effort and other days I push myself to meet each mile under 7:30 while running up to six miles. When running in a 4 to 5 mile race my mile average is around 6:50 – 7:00 minutes per mile. I also try to add in CrossFit based workouts for added intensity. This also provides strength while reminding me to practice stretching and flexibility. With much effort I try to reach the non-oxidative system but seem to always fail. I would assume this is due to my low heart rate and excellent Vo2 max status. I have attended Orange Theory Fitness (OTF) center where they are “science based” and have a screen to show you your performance based on heart rate monitors. However I cannot meet their point status even if I am putting my all into it!⁣ This is considered anaerobic threshold and I originally thought it was a malfunction in my Garmin245 but after recalibration it turns out not to be the case. #slightlynotfair I celebrate the days I spend .2 in anaerobic!

Knowing the benefits of the energy system can help you better understand human performance. These energy systems fall under mitochondrial health, cellular health, muscle health, and so many others. The use of our energy systems depend on our well-being and by understanding what they are we can work in the gym and the kitchen to optimally train and fuel these pathways that make our bodies so adaptive. By doing so when increase our performance and our body’s longevity to keep moving forward.

bottom of page